Ubuntu upgrade issues

So this Thursday I upgraded from 11.04 to 11.10 only to get stuck with an outdated looking 11.10 with weird icons for my folders and no printing. There was no log off option or calendar to my top right as I have come to expect in all my Unbuntu installations.  That’s the same location the printer icon was missing from.  Some of the icons were also off – the terminal icon was just a blank white box with a blue border at the top.  So too my SnapShot app, my Netbeans application icon and folders icon in the menu.  Chrome’s menu looked like it was designed back in the 80s.  So do do the document viewer windows and the folder viewer window menus.  I opened Synaptic Package Manager to try and find an upgrade option, which is usually presented with the update pop-up box.  But alas, it wasn’t there.   So now I’m upgrade to 12.04 via the console.

Launched the upgrade tool with:
sudo do-release-upgrade -d

So far so good.  I was prompted to enter a new password for mySQL database and allow the system to configure the database and phpmyadmin using dbconfig-common.  Then I was asked to restart the following services:  apache2, cups, etc (see image below).  This option would probably explain why my printer settings were not being picked up

configuring libc6

After some time, so far so good.  While unpacking and replacing old packages, the icons returned to their best looking selves.

Helpful sources:

[1]  Howto: Upgrade To Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin From 10.04, 11.04, 11.10 | Desktop & Server

Leave a Reply

